Research & Experiments

The Department is organized into five different areas of study within the field of psychology. They are: Cognitive, Developmental, Neuroscience, Affective Science and Social Psychology (see area descriptions below). These areas consist of faculty members who manage labs and train graduate students, undergraduate students, postdoctoral fellows and research staff. Some faculty have more than one area of focus, and students are encouraged to work across areas as well. To find out about the research interests of specific faculty members or students, please visit People directories. For information on faculty laboratories, visit our Labs page.


Currently there are many different kinds of research studies being conducted in our department, on such topics as aggression, social behavior, competitiveness, dreaming, color perception, spatial relations, learning and memory. Researchers re